Crunchy Mama's Urban Homestead

Come learn about awesome plants on my homestead

Today’s Green Smoothie Combo

on May 27, 2014

We are huge fans of “green smoothies” (introduced to me by Victoria Boutenko’s book Green Smoothies — she has several books on the topic of how awesome leafy greens are for health).  My children like them for the taste (and so do I) but I particularly like that I can get leafy greens into my children’s digestive system!

Today, after a wonderful (and hot) round of miniature golf, we headed home to cool down in the pool and with a green smoothie (NOT in the pool, thankyouverymuch).  Now, I don’t hide the fact from my children that I include leafy green in our smoothies but I have found that the boys prefer if the smoothies are not green in color.  Thank goodness for the awesome blueberries!  They make the smoothie pretty purple and they are super healthy as well!

Purple Green Smoothie

Today’s green smoothie includes:

  • frozen bananas
  • frozen blueberries
  • frozen, chopped kale (although more commonly, I use wild edible leafy greens such as wild spinach, purslane, young grape leaves, young raspberry leaves, violet leaves)
  • a sprinkle of cinnamon
  • a sprinkle of powdered astragalus
  • about a Tbsp. of chia seeds
  • juice of one lemon

Oh, my!  Yummy goodness!  I’d love to hear from you.  What do you like to include in your green smoothies?

Thanks for reading.  If you enjoyed this post, please click the “LIKE” button and consider subscribing via email, Twitter  or your favorite reader.

6 responses to “Today’s Green Smoothie Combo

  1. We love our smoothies here too! Whatever is available on the day goes in though Roger will not put leafy greens in 🙂

  2. Tom says:

    Our broken blender was just replaced after much crabbing by my beautiful bride and we can start making smoothies again but it’s been a while. I used to complain about the fact that drinking anything so green was just unnatural so she also added blackberries which grow wild here and/or carrots. Sometimes she would add a little raw sugar or Stevia if it wasn’t naturally sweet enough. It can’t be too green and must be sweet! wah wah wah

  3. […] Squirt Bottle Swirl Cold Process Soap Today’s Green Smoothie Combo » May […]

Leave a Reply

