Crunchy Mama's Urban Homestead

Come learn about awesome plants on my homestead

Food Preservation Failure – Ick!

on January 9, 2014

So, last summer I was all geeked out about a book that promised low-tech ways of preserving the garden’s bounty without canning or freezing.

Well, I followed the instructions for preserving small tomatoes in brine.  Didn’t work out so well.   Blah!

small tomatoes in brine

Have you tried any of the methods in this book?  How have they worked for you? Let me know in the comments.

If you have enjoyed this post, please consider subscribing via email or in your favorite reader.  I’m also on Twitter and YouTube!  Have a great day!

2 responses to “Food Preservation Failure – Ick!

  1. I did it successfully but the climate’s pretty tough here in the summertime so I water-bathed them after a week or two. I do them same with my sauerkraut after it’s done. It looks like you’re using Tattlers. Next time, try regular metal lids. I have better luck with them with fermentation than Tatttlers or plastic storage lids. I believe the little bit of extra flex they offer with expansion during active fermentation and contraction when it’s done helps keep air out. Also, fill the jar up to 1/2 inch or less from the top. It will be messy while it’s fermenting but reducing air contact seems to be the key.

Leave a Reply

