Crunchy Mama's Urban Homestead

Come learn about awesome plants on my homestead

Individual Preparedness Program: My Primal Preparedness Pantry

on May 11, 2013

Survival Sherpa’s post is so appreciated by those of us who don’t want to store a bunch of wheat and beans (for dietary reasons) for our long-term food storage plan. Part of our new food plan is learning wild edibles — the Earth and the plants store the food for us 🙂

Survival Sherpa

by Todd Walker

“Not being able to govern events, I govern myself.” – Michel de Montaigne

We’re advised to store what we eat and eat what we store by survival gurus. My problem with following this sage advice is that I no longer eat a Standard American Diet (SAD). Most of what is sold by long-term food storage companies goes against the grain (pun intended) with my eating habits and primal/paleo lifestyle. GMO wheat produced from the Industrialized Food Complex is the number one offender to my system. Sugar is my number two nasty. That just sounded awful.

I’ll try to avoid turning this into an infomercial for Primal/Paleo living. I follow the 80/20 rule promoted by Mark Sisson in his Primal Blueprint. I do have cheat days where I eat a pizza and draft beer with DRG and friends – without guilt. My primal lifestyle isn’t a diet. It’s…

View original post 1,669 more words

Leave a Reply

